## TOWN OF MILLVILLE BOARD OF SELECTMEN

## MINUTES OF MEETING

## December 10, 2014 - 5:00 p.m.

**Board of Selectmen Members Present:** Chairman Roland Barrett, Vice Chairman Joseph Rapoza, Secretary Jennifer Dean Wing and Selectman John Laura

Board of Selectmen Members Absent: Selectman Robert Baker

Others Present: Executive Secretary Helen Coffin

Chairman Barrett opens the special meeting at 5:08 p.m. at the Longfellow Municipal Center. The Board meets in order to appoint an Interim Building Commissioner.

The Board reviews the resume of James Sheehan who is present. Executive Secretary explains that Mr. Sheehan has a great deal of experience and is a certified Building Commissioner. He is interested in the position on an interim basis for a couple of months to see if it works for him, and then he may consider applying for it on a permanent basis. The appointment is effective immediately through June 30, 2015 or until a permanent individual is hired, whichever is first.

Mr. Lincoln Barber wishes to express his feelings regarding the position. He feels the Board should hire an individual who is committed to the Town and not just seeking to increase his retirement. He has concerns about the work of some of the past Building Commissioners.

Mr. Sheehan states that he is interested in the position on an interim basis to help out the Town.

Selectman Laura questions why we need to fill the position so quickly. The Executive Secretary advises that there are outstanding Building Permits that need sign-off and some items that need to be addressed by a Building Commissioner. Mr. Barber, as the Local Inspector, is not certified to sign Building Permits or address some of the current issues.

On a motion by Laura and second by Rapoza, the Board votes unanimously to appoint James Sheehan as the Interim Building Commissioner effective immediately through June 30, 2015, or until the permanent position is filled, whichever is sooner.

On a motion by Rapoza and second by Laura, the Board votes unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 5:15 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Helen M. Coffin, Executive Secretary

Roland P. Barrett, Chairman

Joseph G. Rapoza, Vice Chairman

Jennifer Dean Wing, Secretary

John M. Laura, Selectman