TOWN OF MILLVILLE

BOARD OF SELECTMEN

MINUTES OF MEETING

JULY 20, 2015 – 7:00 P.M.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Board Members Present:	Vice Chairman Joseph	Rapoza; Secretary	Jennifer Dean	Wing; Members
Robert Baker and John Laur	·a			
D 1 M 1 A1	C1	44		

Board Members Absent: Chairman Roland Barrett

Others Present: Executive Secretary Helen Coffin; Chief Ronald Landry

The Roard seeks to enter executive session per M G L $_{G}$ 20A 821(a) \P 3 to discuss strategy with respect

The Board seeks to enter executive session per M.G.L. c.30A §21(a) ¶3 to discuss strategy with respect to collective bargaining with the Fire union.

On a motion by Laura and second by Baker, the Board votes unanimously by roll call to enter Executive Session under M.G.L. c.30A $\S21(a)$ ¶3, and to return to open meeting only to adjourn. {Baker, aye; Wing, aye; Rapoza, aye; Laura, aye (8:07)}

Executive Secretary indicates that there was difficulty in communicating with the Union Rep. Because the current contract has expired he is asking to enter a one-year contract. Board members are not in favor of a one-year agreement and feel that if they are going to negotiate it should just be for 3 years. No written proposals have been received as yet. Wing assumes they will be looking for the same pay increase as the police received. Chief Landry feels there are some administrative rights that need to be changed in the current contract and he will work on submitting those. Wing would like to see language included that doesn't tie the Town to the contract in case it decides to go in another direction. Brief discussion follows regarding contract language. The Board recommends scheduling a meeting to set ground rules. Selectman Laura agrees to continue as bargaining representative for the Board.

On a motion by Baker and second by Laura, the Board votes unanimously by roll call to exit Executive Session under M.G.L. c.30A $\S21(a)$ ¶3, and to return to open meeting only to adjourn. {Baker, aye; Wing, aye; Rapoza, aye; Laura, aye (8:07)}

Respectfully submitted, Helen M. Coffin	
Joseph Rapoza, Vice Chairman	Jennifer Dean Wing, Secretary
Robert Baker	John Laura