Firearms Registration and Laws
Firearms Identification (FID) Card
An FID card authorizes the possession and carrying of non-large capacity rifles and shotguns. An FID card may, at the request of the applicant, be limited to the possession of mace and other incapacitating sprays. No person under the age of fifteen may be issued an FID card. No person who is fifteen but less than eighteen years of age may obtain an FID card without parental permission.
To read requirements and restrictions, see M.G.L. c. 140, §129B.
License to Carry (LTC) Fireams
There are presents two classes of license to carry (LTC) firearms: Class A and Class B.
A Class A LTC authorizes the possession and carrying of large capacity firearms, rifles, shotguns and feeding devices. A weapon is large capacity if it is a semi-automatic and has or is able to accept a feeding device of more than ten rounds of ammunition or more than five shotgun shells. A Class A LTC is required in order to carry any loaded firearm in a concealed manner in a way or place.
A Class B LTC authorizes the possession and carrying of non-large capacity firearms as well as large and non-large capacity rifles and shotguns. No person under the age of twenty-one may be issued either a Class A or Class B LTC.
To read requirements and restrictions, see M.G.L. c. 140, §131.
Applicants for Class A or B licenses, FID cards or Permits to Purchase, who were not licenses on June 1, 1998, are required to submit a certificate of completion of a basic firearms safety course, or a certificate of completion of a hunting safety course issued by the Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife. Certificates of course completion are not required for FID cards issued for the sole purpose of purchasing or possessing mace or other incapacitating sprays.
No LTC or FID card may be issued unless the Colonel of the State Police certifies in writing that the information available to him does not indicate that the applicate is disqualified (the Colonel may ask for change in the law so that records checks may continue to be done by local licensing authorities).
A chief may issue a Class A or Class B LTC to a non-disqualified person who is "suitable" and who has "good reason to fear injury to his person or property, or for any other reason, including the carrying of firearms for use in sport or target practice only". A chief may also impose restrictions that he deems "proper" relative to the possession, use or carrying of the weapons authorized by the respective licenses. A violation of a restriction is cause for a suspension and is punishable by fine, but it does not negate the validity of the license for the purposes of M.G.L. c. 269, §10.
The fee for all licenses is $100.00. There is no renewal fee for persons over the age of 70, or for the renewal of an FID card issued solely for the purchase of mace. A breakdown of the application fee is as follows: $50 - Commonwealth of Massachusetts; $25 - Licensing Authority; $25 - Firearms Fingerprint Identity Verification Trust Fund.
For answers to specific questions regarding the licensing process or to schedule an appointment, please feel free to contact dispatch at (508) 883-3117.
An officer is available to assist you by appointment on Thursdays and Saturdays from 7-8 p.m., or the Police Clerk can process your application by appointment Tuesday through Friday 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.
You may obtain the firearms application by either picking one up at the Millville Police Department or by printing one here.